We will be kicking off our Spring fundraiser on April 15th.  The school earns 50% profit on each item sold and if every student commits to selling 2 items the school will profit $16,000!  The money raised from this fundraiser will help fund art, science, technology and school activities.
Each item costs $20.
1 free discount card comes with every purchased item which includes discounts and deals that can be used daily.  Some of the cooperating businesses include Cedar River Coffee, Papa Murphy's, Subway, and McDonald's!
The fundraiser will run for two weeks.  Order forms will be sent home on April 15th!




Spring Minions PTA Membership Contest


 Each Class that has 100% Participation will be given the opportunity to play silly pranks on Ms. Nakapaahu.

  April 30th Deadline: You're Suspended!

 May 31st Deadline: Silly String!

 Special Prize: Mystery prank on Principal Thatcher!

 See Flyer for Contest Rules

Check Classroom Standings




April 29th - May 3rd

Sign up to volunteer here


Saturday June 1, 2019- 4:15 PM against the LA Angels.
Tickets will be delivered the week of May 28th.

Tickets $21 each ($8 from each ticket supports the PTA)

Bring your kids out to the ballpark with their friends. To insure you have seats with your friends, please have one person purchase ALL the tickets for your group in one transaction.

Deadline to purchase tickets - May 14th

To purchase Tickets

Click Here




 May 3rd6-8 PM 

Briarwood Gym

Do you have a love of science? Display your latest ideas, research and inventions at this year’s Science Fair. All students are encouraged to participate by working on a science project or invention at home displaying it at the Science Fair.  All participants must register online.


Please register HERE

Questions? Email Kristi Isaacs - kristi.isaacs@gmail.com





In continuation of Briarwood's PTA to enrich the education around the areas of art, during the month of March students got to participate in the Art of Discovery Program.  All Briarwood students had exposure to eight original art pieces, with a variety of mediums.  The students participated in open ended discussions surrounding each art piece including what they liked/ and didn't like and how art isn't always just paint or pastels on paper.   All of the artwork was created by local Northwest Artists including Jack Portland, Michael Spafford, Jacob Lawrence and more.  Be sure to ask your child about their favorite art piece. 
Almost all Grade levels have completed their ceramic project for the year.  3rd Grade made a Salmon, 5th Grade and Science Tech made Dragons, 2nd Grade made Coil Hearts, 1st Grade made coil flowers, Kindergarten is working on Butterflies and 4th Grade will make pinch pot creatures. 
This year our art lessons are geared towards teaching your children some of the basic principles of art while introducing some of the World's Greatest Artists, seasonal projects and some curriculum based projects.  Your children will be exposed to different mediums such as Watercolors, Mosaics, Foil Embossing, Oil Pastels, printmaking and more.  Be sure to check out these masterpieces in the hallways the next time you are at the school.
Thank you to all 41 of our wonderful art docents. Whether you are taking the time to learn the lesson and teach it to the kids or just coming in to help set up and clean up.  We could not run this program without you!
We are looking for volunteers to shadow art positions this year or next.  Positions include: Art Docent Leads, Ceramics Leads, Reflections Chair and Art of Discovery chair.   Please contact Tira Will tirataylortatum@gmail.com for more information.


Nominating Committee Report - April 15, 2019


The 2018-2019 Briarwood PTA Nominating Committee places the following names in nomination to serve for the 2019-2020 year: 

For the Office of President: Jasmine Brothers

For the office of Co-VP Programs: vacant

For the office of Co-VP Programs: vacant

For the Office of VP of Family Nights: vacant 

For the office of VP of Fundraising: Jill Santiago 

For the Office of Secretary: Megan Raak

For the Office of Treasurer: Ben Mathis

For the office of VP Communications: Kristi Isaacs and Desiree Mostrom 

The Nominating Committee has confirmed that all nominees have been a member of a PTA for at least 15 days prior to the election, and meet other requirements as required by the Washington State PTA Uniform Bylaws.  

Respectfully submitted,  

Jill Santiago

The 2018-2019 Nominating Committee

If you would like more information about an elected or appointed position, please contact the Nominating Committee at santiago.jillv@gmail.com



   Current 2018-19 Board

President- Nicole Morgan
Secretary- Jasmine Brothers
Treasurer-Alison Larsson
co-VP Programs- Kathleen Baillie
co-VP Programs- Tira Will
VP Family Nights- Kristi Isaacs
VP-Fundraising- Jill Santiago
VP Communications- Desiree Mostrom & Jen Catherall


Upcoming Calendar



25-29 - Missoula

29 - Missoula Theatre Performance





5 - Popcorn Friday


8-12 - Spring Break, No School for students or staff


15 - General PTA Meeting, 6:30PM in the Briarwood Library


19 - Popcorn Friday


29-3 - Spring Book Fair, BOGO





29-3 - Spring Book Fair, BOGO


3 - STEM/Science Fair 6-8PM


3 - Popcorn Friday


6-10 - Staff Appreciation Week


17 - Popcorn Friday


20 - General PTA Meeting, 6:30PM in the Briarwood Library


27 - Memorial Day, No School for students or staff


31 - Popcorn Friday



Year at a Glance